A year on

The motto of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Day of Service is “a day on, not a day off.”

I found myself thinking of that when friends and family proclaimed, “cool! Terence has a sabbatical! You will have a year off!” No, I think this will be a year very much ON.

I spent more than half of my childhood living abroad, and I remember expatriate life as a series of intense highs and lows. I expect the same from this year, perhaps more so because we will be living in Jerusalem and this time around I am the parent, not the kid.

I hope to use this blog to share the ways I am on point, on edge, on empty and hopefully on Cloud 9 during this family “year off.” Come join me on the journey!

About hilarymead

Taking two young kids, a great husband, and a whole lot of questions to Jerusalem for a year's sabbatical.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A year on

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. I can already visualize the book that this blog is destined to become. xo

  3. Margaret says:

    I am here with you! Loving that you started a blog for your YEAR ON journey. Bon Voyage!

Leave a Reply

