Bags are packed…

Not a great photo, but you get the gist.

4 family members, 1 year, 8 suitcases. At the end, the packing got a little random, but at the very least we each found room for what we considered essential:

Hannah – lots of Magic Treehouse and Ramona books

Margaret – doll stroller

Terence – two 17″ laptops

Hilary – Starbucks Via coffee

We leave this evening. I remember the night we moved to London in January 1987, wearing big rainboots on the plane, probably because they did not fit in our luggage. My parents tell a story from September 1977, when they finally boarded the plane to Paris after endless delays. My mother carried 3-year old Lindsey and 9-month old me, each asleep over one shoulder. My father heaved the carryons down the aisle. As they passed through First Class en route to their seats way in the back, a fancy woman leaned over her perfectly coiffed child and said to her husband in a stage whisper, “And we thought we had problems!”

These memories, remembered and retold, will cycle through my mind on my long journey tonight. My mother-in-law is coming over with me and the girls, since Terence has a Fulbright conference through the weekend. That way hopefully we’ll be on local time before Hannah starts kindergarten on Monday. The life transitions are coming fast and furious.

I hope to be back here to update soon, but we’ll see what the fates (and internet access, international adapters, etc.) have in store for me.

“Fortune favors the brave,” my father sent me in an email. My father in law looked the quote up and it’s from the Roman author Terence. An auspicious sign? Certainly a lovely name! I hope I find some bravery and some good fortune in the intense days ahead.

And now: stretch. Deep breath. Begin.

About hilarymead

Taking two young kids, a great husband, and a whole lot of questions to Jerusalem for a year's sabbatical.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bags are packed…

  1. Lindsey says:

    With you in spirit … sending so much love. Look how that sleeping 3 year old and 9 month old turned out. HMG and MMG are going to thrive … and so are you. xo

  2. Auspicious indeed! I admire your bravery and can’t wait to follow your adventures through the Interwebs. xo

  3. Lindsay says:

    I love this and will be following the next post and the next and the next… You guys are brave and I can’t wait to follow your adventure. Safe travels to all and feel free to shoot an evil look to those obnoxious people on the plane with their staged whispers! Hehe.

  4. I am going to remember that quotation, and use it frequently and ironically. (The “we thought we had problems” one, not the Terence “fortune favors the bold” one.)

Leave a Reply

