The Maslow Report

We made it! In retrospect I should probably have spent less time researching plane trips and more time learning about toddler jet lag….

Quick flight recap: so, so much better than expected. Hannah pretzeled herself up and fell asleep 15 minutes after take off. We woke her up an hour before landing, but I think she would have slept all the way to Tel Aviv. Margaret was a little less freakish, but still really good. I got compliments from other passengers about my kids!

Now we are squarely on the bottom rung of the Hierarchy of Needs. It’s a mixed bag, but overall we are doing ok for 36 hours in:

Food – delicious hummus, yogurt, oranges, bread. Grocery store is across the street from our apartment. Prices on many goods are eye-popping….so that is what the Israeli protests were all about!

Sleep – you win some (plane flight), you lose some (day 1 in country). After sleeping in late, the kids finally fell asleep at 1 am today. I’m not sure we are making any friends among our neighbors. Good thing this is only a temporary rental!

Shelter – we’re renting from a family with two kids. Disney princesses look the same everywhere! Toys and English books much enjoyed by H&M. I got a tour of my future home (move in next week). It is fantastic – seems to have all we need and nothing we don’t, and my lovely landlord opened the door, gave me a hug and kisses and said, “welcome to your house!”

On this day of figuring out so many basic things, I really needed that.

About hilarymead

Taking two young kids, a great husband, and a whole lot of questions to Jerusalem for a year's sabbatical.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Maslow Report

  1. Lindsey says:

    yay!!! so glad for the report.

  2. Margaret says:

    As one who travels semi-regularly with kids but sans husband on planes, I’d take sleeping on the plane over sleeping “at home” any day. Well done, girls! I love your landlord already. Thinking of you all!

  3. Nothing gives me a greater sense of smug satisfaction than when my kids behave well on airplanes. And then there are the times they behave not-so-well…

    Three cheers for a safe and uneventful arrival and for lovely landlords! (Trying to imagine that happening in NYC and drawing a blank.)

Leave a Reply

