A wider world

Some aspects of living in a foreign country scandalize Hannah and Margaret, while others roll right off them. This is one of my goals for the year: to show my sheltered children a wider world. St. Andrew’s is an amazing place to grow up — safe, beautiful, friendly, and in some ways diverse — but it’s a bubble. This year I want to show my girls how many ways there are to live in the world.

So far, Hannah and Margaret notice and don’t like: smokers, motorcyclists (especially when they ride on the sidewalk), the so-far indecipherable Hebrew and Arabic alphabets, and stray cats. (Actually, if you know our neighbor in Middletown, that last item should not be so shocking).

I was expecting a lot more questions and commentary about religious dress. Our neighborhood is almost exclusively Jewish but international and multi-ethnic, with many different forms of observance and corresponding ‘looks.’ So far, nothing except for Margaret bringing me a tea towel and asking me to sew her a kippa. Nor do the girls register the presence of armed soliders. I’m trying to not lead them, just answer questions as they come.

About hilarymead

Taking two young kids, a great husband, and a whole lot of questions to Jerusalem for a year's sabbatical.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A wider world

  1. Margaret says:

    Oh, Hil. I love them. I am loving getting to know your kids better through your blog posts. I also love that you are taking the time to notice what they are and are not noticing. This will be so wonderful for them to read when they are older.

  2. K. C. Mead says:

    Just leaving you a reply to test whether I can understand how to do this. Your sister is coaching me.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

