Home

Last Friday, with both kids in summer camp, I wandered around our house and the surrounding fields, documenting its many beauties. I’m trying to notice things at home the way I eventually began to do in Jerusalem, to slow down and freeze the frame. I remember driving up our steep driveway in a U-Haul for the first time seven years ago, thinking: Wow. I get to live here? 

And this pond is across the field behind our house.

 

 

 

 

Hmmmmm…a pile of rocks in the desert-like sand. This looks like something from Israel or Jordan but I found it on a point overlooking the pond. I found myself wondering: what civilization put it here? Bored five year old boy?

 

 

Above one of our windows, there’s even a line-up of barn swallows, reminding me of another bird in our window in Jerusalem.

 

 

 

As I continue to struggle over what learned this year, and what exactly I’m bringing home, I’m looking for the little things.

About hilarymead

Taking two young kids, a great husband, and a whole lot of questions to Jerusalem for a year's sabbatical.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home

  1. tgilheany says:

    So, so different – and yet also so beautiful. It’s hard to explain. For me it is sometimes about the sounds – the wind in the trees, and the other day the rain in the trees. There aren’t enough leaves in Jerusalem to make that same kind of across the landscape rustling.

  2. robin says:

    I am a long-time lurker and I just want to say that yours is one of my favorite blogs in the universe. I hope you keep it up. You have a ton to offer this world; and in my corner of the world my heart leaps just a little when I see you have a new post up. Thank you for all you’ve brought to us, your loyal readers.

  3. Sally Willits says:

    I love your blog, Hils! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

